## VIRTUAL/TELECONFERENCE COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 27, 2025

**PRESENT:** Dutch Beckett, Melissa Blake, Kayla Cwojdzinski (arrived at 9:45 a.m.), Fawn

George, Ann Hoeppner, Megan Jackson, Dana McIntosh, Alexis Watkins

**STAFF:** Will Johnson, Executive Director; Joseph Ricker, Legal Counsel; Nilajah Hardin and

Jacob Pelegrin, Administrative Rule Coordinator; Tracy Drinkwater, Board

Administration Specialist; and other Department staff.

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Megan Jackson, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m. A quorum was confirmed with seven (7) members present.

#### ADOPTION OF AGENDA

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Dana McIntosh, to adopt the Agenda as

published. Motion carried unanimously.

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF OCTOBER 28, 2024** 

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Fawn George, to approve the Minutes of

October 28, 2024, as published. Motion carried unanimously.

Kayla Cwojdzinski arrived at 9:45 a.m.

#### INTRODUCTIONS, ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION

#### **Introduction & Welcome – DSPS Secretary Hereth**

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Alexis Watkins, to acknowledge and

thank Secretary Hereth, for their appearance to the Board. Motion carried

unanimously.

## PRELIMINARY PUBLIC HEARING ON STATEMENT OF SCOPE: SS 101-24 ON COS 1, 2, 4, 5, AND 6, RELATING TO EDUCATION AND APPROVED FORMAL TRAINING

#### **Review Preliminary Public Hearing Comments**

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Dutch Beckett, to affirm the Board has

provided an opportunity to receive public comments concerning Scope Statement (SS) 101-24 on Cos 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, Relating to Education and Approved Formal Training. Additionally, after consideration of all public comments and feedback the Board approves SS 101-24 for implementation.

Motion carried unanimously.

#### **ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS**

## **Election of Officers**

## Slate of Officers

**NOMINATION:** Ann Hoeppner nominated the 2024 slate of officers to continue in 2025. All officers accepted their nominations.

Will Johnson, Executive Director, called for nominations three (3) times.

The Slate of Officers was elected by unanimous voice vote.

2025 ELECTION RESULTS	
Chairperson	Megan Jackson
Vice Chairperson	Kayla Cwojdzinski
Secretary	Ann Hoeppner

## **Appointment of Liaisons and Alternates**

LIAISON APPOINTMENTS	
Credentialing Liaison(s)	Kayla Cwojdzinski <i>Alternate:</i> Dutch Beckett
Monitoring Liaison(s)	Dutch Beckett  Alternate: Dana McIntosh
Professional Assistance Procedure (PAP) Liaison(s)	Kayla Cwojdzinski <i>Alternate:</i> Alexis Watkins
Education and Examinations Liaison(s)	Megan Jackson  Alternate: Melissa Blake
Legislative Liaison(s)	Alexis Watkins  Alternate: Ann Hoeppner
Digest Liaison(s)	Melissa Blake  Alternate: Fawn George
Travel Authorization Liaison(s)	Dutch Beckett  Alternate: Melissa Blake

Screening Panel	Ann Hoeppner, Kayla Cwojdzinski, Melissa Blake, Alexis Watkins <i>Alternate:</i> Fawn George	
OTHER APPOINTMENTS		
Interdisciplinary Advisory Committee	Alexis Watkins  Alternate: Dana McIntosh	

#### **Delegation of Authorities**

## **Pre-Screening Delegation**

**MOTION:** 

Dutch Beckett moved, seconded by Kayla Cwojdzinski, to delegate to the screening attorney the authority to immediately open cases that consist solely of any one of the following, or combination of the following: practice by an individual holding an expired license issued by the Board, practice by a licensed individual outside of an establishment with a valid license, practice by an establishment with an expired establishment license, and safety and sanitary violations that on their face warrant an inspection of an establishment. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Delegation to Department Attorneys to Approve Prior Discipline**

**MOTION**:

Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Alexis Watkins, to delegate authority to Department Attorneys to approve an applicant's prior professional discipline which resulted in a forfeiture/fine/other monetary penalty, remedial education, and/or reprimand, that is 10 years old or older, and the previously disciplined credential is currently in good standing. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Delegation to Handle Administrative Rule Matters**

**MOTION**:

Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Fawn George, to delegate authority to the Chairperson (or, in the absence of the Chairperson, the highest-ranking officer or longest serving Board member in that succession), to act on behalf of the Board regarding administrative rule matters between meetings. Motion carried unanimously.

#### Review and Approval of 2024 Delegations including new modifications

**MOTION:** 

Alexis Watkins moved, seconded by Megan Jackson, to reaffirm all delegation motions made in 2024, as reflected in the January 27, 2025, agenda materials, which were not otherwise modified or amended during the January 27, 2025, meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE RULE MATTERS

### <u>Clearinghouse Report and Public Comments on Cos 1, 2, 3, and 4 Relating to Mobile</u> Establishments

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Dutch Beckett, to designate Dana

McIntosh to work with DSPS staff on drafting a definition for "Hazardous

Substances" for the rule on Cos 1, 2, ,3, and 4, relating to Mobile

Establishments. Motion carried unanimously.

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Alexis Watkins, to authorize the

Chairperson to work with DSPS staff on responding to the Clearinghouse Report and drafting the Final Rule and Legislative Report for Clearinghouse Rule 24-088 (Cos 1, 2, 3, and 4), Relating to Mobile Establishments. Motion

carried unanimously.

#### **CLOSED SESSION**

**MOTION:** Dana McIntosh moved, seconded by Ann Hoeppner, to convene to closed

session to deliberate on cases following hearing (s. 19.85(1)(a), Stats.); to consider licensure or certification of individuals (s. 19.85(1)(b), Stats.); to consider closing disciplinary investigation with administrative warning (ss. 19.85(1)(b), Stats. and 440.205, Stats.); to consider individual histories or disciplinary data (s. 19.85(1)(f), Stats.); and, to confer with legal counsel (s. 19.85(1)(g), Stats.). Megan Jackson, Chairperson, read the language of the motion. The vote of each member was ascertained by voice vote. Roll Call Vote: Dutch Beckett-yes; Melissa Blake-yes; Kayla Cwojdzinski-yes; Fawn George-yes, Ann Hoeppner-yes; Megan Jackson-yes; Dana McIntosh-yes; and

Alexis Watkins-yes. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board convened into Closed Session at 10:55 a.m.

# DELIBERATION ON DIVISION OF LEGAL SERVICES AND COMPLIANCE (DLSC) MATTERS

#### **Case Closings**

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Kayla Cwojdzinski, to close the following DLSC Cases for the reasons outlined below:

- 1. 20 BAC 087 N.K., N.L.N. Prosecutorial Discretion (P5)
- 2. 21 BAC 026 F.N., T.N. Insufficient Evidence
- 3. 23 BAC 056 P.N., P.O. Prosecutorial Discretion (P2)
- 4. 23 BAC 129 L.V., A.X. Insufficient Evidence Motion carried unanimously.

world carried unanimously.

#### RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

**MOTION:** Dutch Beckett moved, seconded by Fawn George, to reconvene into open

session. Motion carried unanimously.

The Board reconvened into Open Session at 11:19 a.m.

#### VOTING ON ITEMS CONSIDERED OR DELIBERATED ON IN CLOSED SESSION

**MOTION:** Dana McIntosh moved, seconded by Ann Hoeppner, to affirm all motions made and votes taken in Closed Session. Motion carried unanimously.

(Be advised that any recusals or abstentions reflected in the closed session motions stand for the purposes of the affirmation vote.)

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

**MOTION:** Ann Hoeppner moved, seconded by Dutch Beckett, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 11:21 a.m.