
Council on Worker's Compensation 
Meeting Minutes 
GEF-1 Building 

Madison, Wisconsin 
October 4, 2017 

The Department of Workforce Development (DWD) provided public notice of the meeting under Wis. Stat. 
§ 19.84.

Members present: Ms. Bloomingdale, Mr. Dernbach (Chair) (via telephone), Ms. Frank, Mr. 
Fugina (via telephone), Mr. Gunderson (via telephone), Ms. Johnson (via telephone), Mr. Kent, 
Mr. Reader, Mr. Redman, and Mr. Tindall 

Excused: Mr. Buchen, Mr. Schwanda, Ms. Seiler, and Ms. Thomas 

Staff Present: Mr. Aiello, Mr. Gottfredsen, Mr. Krueger, Ms. McCormick, and Mr. O'Malley (via 
telephone)   

1. Call to Order/Introductions:  Mr. Krueger, serving as acting Chair, convened the Worker's
Compensation Advisory Council (WCAC) meeting at approximately 10:10 a.m. in
accordance with Wisconsin's open meetings law. Mr. Krueger called the roll of the members.
Members of the WCAC, the audience, and Worker's Compensation Division (WCD) staff
introduced themselves.

2. Approval of the Minutes: A motion was made by Ms. Bloomingdale to approve the minutes
of the August 23, 2017 meeting.  Mr. Tindall seconded the motion. The minutes were
unanimously approved without correction.

3. Draft Agreed Upon Bill Review: The first draft Agreed Upon Bill (LRB-4386/P1) was
discussed. Ms. Bloomingdale explained that the members representing Labor proposed to
change language on pages 20-21, Section 45, in s. 102.423 (1) (a) 1. from "average
payment made" to "average negotiated price" and in s. 102.43 (1) (c) from "payment" and
"payments" to "negotiated price." These changes would allow the incorporation of co-
payments and deductibles into the price determination. For example, the actual price for a
procedure to which the insurance company paid $100 and the individual paid a $50 co-
payment to the provider would be considered $150 instead of only the $100 paid by group
health insurance.

Mr. Tindall discussed the proposed changes by the members representing Management to
ss. 102.423 (pages 20-22, Section 45) and 102.525 (page 24, Section 53). Management
sought additional language to clarify that the Medicare fee schedule was to be used as a
baseline and the worker's compensation fee schedule would be based on a percentage over
Medicare to mirror group health insurance reimbursement amounts. Management also
sought to clarify that medical providers would have one opportunity, through a public
hearing, to provide support for the administrative cost factor of 2.5 percent is not sufficient to
cover their costs and not be allowed to challenge the cost factor percentage on a claim-by-
claim basis.

Management also proposed the language of s. 102.525 should be changed to match the
current statutory language regarding the criteria to receive benefits for loss of earning
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capacity. The concern was that, as currently drafted, a worker could potentially make a claim 
for the 15% increase in permanent partial disability benefits based on the loss of his or her 
job years later regardless of whether the job loss was related to the work injury. 

A motion was made by Ms. Bloomingdale for the Labor and Management members to go 
into closed caucus. The motion was seconded by Mr. Tindall. The motion passed 
unanimously and the members went into closed caucus at 10:20 a.m. The members 
returned from caucus at about 1:20 p.m. 

Mr. Reader, using the document containing Management's proposed changes as a starting 
point, set out the specific language agreed to by the members representing Labor and 
Management to amend the current draft. The proposed changes to Sections 45 and 53 were 
as follows: 

SECTION 45. 102.423 of the statutes is created to read: 

102.423 Health service fee schedule. (1) HEALTH SERVICE FEE SCHEDULE. (a) By 

January 1, 2019, the department shall establish a schedule of the maximum fees 

that a health care provider may charge an employer or insurer for health services 

provided to an injured employee who claims benefits under this chapter. When 

that schedule is established, the department shall notify the legislative reference 

bureau and the legislative reference bureau shall publish that notice in the 

Wisconsin Administrative Register.  For the health services in the schedule, the 

department shall do all of the following: 

1. Based on sources obtained by the department, determine the average

negotiated price made for group health benefit plans to the extent possible, as 

defined in s. 632.745 (9), group health plans, as defined in s. 632.745 (10), and 

self-insured health plans, as defined in s. 632.745 (24). 

2. Calculate, as a percentage, the variation of average group insurance

negotiated price computed in subd. 1. as compared to the Medicare 

reimbursement rates set per the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services. 
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3. Apply the percentage variance for each Current Procedural

Terminology and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System code to the 

health services contained in the Medicare billing code system. 

4. Set the maximum fee for each health service calculated under subd. 3.

above by increasing the amounts determined under subd. 3. by 2.5 percent for 

administrative costs. 

(b) 1.  In this paragraph, “consumer price index" means the average of

the consumer price index for medical care services over each 12-month period 

for all urban consumers, U.S. city average, as determined by the bureau of labor 

statistics of the federal department of labor. 

2. On each January 1, beginning with January 1, 2020, the department

shall adjust the maximum fees established under par. (a) by the percentage 

difference between the consumer price index for the 12-month period ending on 

December 31 of the preceding year and the consumer price index for the 12-

month period ending on December 31 of the year before the preceding year. 

(c) No less often than every 10 years, the department shall obtain health

service negotiated price data from the sources specified in par. (a) 1., 

redetermine the average negotiated price specified in par. (a) 1., and revise the 

maximum fees established under par. (a) 3. based on that redetermined average. 

(d) The department shall publish the fee schedule established under par.

(a) on the department's Internet site.

(e) Prior to the effective date of this section, health care providers may

petition the department to hold a public hearing to gather information to be used 

to determine if the increase under sub. (1) (a) 3. b. for unique administrative 

costs is sufficient to pay for the unique administrative costs incurred in treating 

worker's compensation patients versus patients whose bills are paid by other 
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means. If the department determines, based on the request and information 

gathered and submitted, that the percentage increase under sub. (1) (a) 3. b. for 

unique administrative costs is generally insufficient to pay for the unique 

administrative costs incurred by health care providers for treating worker's 

compensation patients, the department shall establish and apply an alternative 

increase for the unique administrative costs that is not more than 10 percent of 

the cost of the service as determined under sub. (1) (a) 1. 

(f) The department shall have the authority to promulgate an emergency

rule for purposes of publishing the formula to be used to calculate the medical 

fee schedule; the emergency rule shall become effective immediately upon 

promulgation, except the usual rule-making procedures provided under this 

chapter shall be retroactively applied to the rule as soon as is reasonable 

possible, but no later than 90 days after the effective date of the emergency rule. 

(2) LIABILITY OF EMPLOYER OR INSURER.  (a)  The liability of an employer or

insurer for a health service included in the fee schedule established under sub. 

(1) is limited to the maximum fee allowed under the schedule for that health

service as of the date on which the health service was provided or the health 

care provider's actual fee for the health service as of that date, whichever is less. 

(b) A health care provider that provides health services to an injured

employee under this chapter may not collect, or bring an action to collect, from 

the injured employee any charge that is in excess of the liability of the employer 

or insurer under this subsection. 

(c) This subsection first applies to a health service provided to an injured

employee on the date on which the notice under sub. (1) (a) is published in the 

Wisconsin Administrative Register. 
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(3) RECORDS.   Records related to the collection of any information under sub.

(1) (a) 1. are not subject to the right of inspection and copying under s. 19.35 (1).

(4) RULES.  Subject to sub. (1) (d), the department shall promulgate rules to

implement this section. 

SECTION 53. 102.525 of the statutes is created to read: 

102.525 Additional payment for permanent partial disability. (1) With respect 

to an employee who sustains a disability specified under s. 102.52: (a) If during 

the period set forth in s. 102.17 (4) the employment relationship is terminated by 

the employer at the time of the injury or by the employee because his or her 

physical limitations resulting from the work injury prevent his or her continuing in 

such employment, or if during that period wage loss of 15 percent or more 

occurs, the number of weeks for which indemnity shall be payable shall be 

increased by 15 percent. 

(b) For the purpose of determining wage loss:

1. The determination of wage loss shall not take into account any period

during which benefits are payable for temporary disability. 

2. The determination of wage loss shall not take into account any period

during which benefits are paid under ch. 108. 

3. Payment of benefits for permanent partial disability shall not be

considered payment of wages.4. Wage loss shall be determined on wages, as 

defined in s. 102.11. Percentage of wage loss shall be calculated on the basis of 

actual average wages over a period of at least 13 weeks. 

(c) For purposes of this subsection, if the employer in good faith makes

an offer of employment which is refused by the employee without reasonable 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/ch.%20108
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/102.11


6 

cause, the employee is considered to have returned to work with the earnings the 

employee would have received had it not been for the refusal. 

(2) An increase under sub. (1) shall be applied after the application of any

increase under s. 102.53 or 102.54. 

Before taking a vote on the amended draft language, Mr. Reader made a motion to 
read a statement to have memorialized into the record. Ms. Bloomingdale seconded 
the motion which passed unanimously. Mr. Reader read the following statement: 

For the record, as part of the agreed bill for the 2017-2019 legislative 
session the Worker's Compensation Advisory Council recommends the 
Legislature adopt a medical fee schedule that sets the maximum 
chargeable amount for health services for workplace injuries to the 
average negotiated price for group health plans, as determined by the 
Department of Workforce Development, plus 2.5 percent for 
administrative costs health providers face for unique costs specific to 
worker's compensation cases.  The fee schedule is intended to control 
high medical costs for worker's compensation claims.  The members of 
the Council believe that the high medical costs in Wisconsin for treating 
injured workers has created an uncompetitive cost situation for employers 
along with limiting the available money for injured worker benefits.  It is 
the intent of the Council to recommend to the Legislature in future 
legislative sessions that the savings verified by the WCRB, the Wisconsin 
Compensation Rating Bureau, that materialize because of the 
implementation of the fee schedule shall be used in part to increase 
injured worker benefits beyond the usual and customary increases that 
typically occur.  In addition, it is the Council's intent that a portion of the 
savings shall be recommended in future sessions to be utilized to reduce 
workplace injuries by promoting workplace safety.   

Mr. Reader made a motion to have the statement included in the record as read. Ms. 
Bloomingdale seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. 

Mr. Reader made a motion that the WCAC approve the draft of the Agreed Upon Bill 
with the amendments to Sections 45 and 53 as stated earlier. Ms. Bloomingdale 
seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.  

5. Adjournment:  A motion was made by Mr. Reader to adjourn the meeting. The motion was
seconded by Ms. Bloomingdale. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was 
adjourned at approximately 1:30 p.m.

The Worker's Compensation Advisory Council does not have any additional meetings 
scheduled at this time.


